

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 14, 2022

CONTACT:

Sarah Leonard, President & CEO

Tel: 907.929.2842

Email: sleonard@alaskatia.org

Alaska Tourism Industry Recognizes Businesses, Individuals

7 recognized for achievements during annual awards banquet

Anchorage, AK – The Alaska Travel Industry Association (ATIA), Alaska's statewide professional trade association for businesses and individuals involved in the visitor industry, announced its 2022 Visitor Industry Awards recipients last night at its annual convention in Sitka. Award winners are selected by visitor industry peers based on professional excellence and service to Alaska's tourism industry.

Alyeska Award: Alaska Airlines

Aurora Award: Anthony Giliam

Chuck West Award: Juneau Lighthouse Tours

Denali Award: Josh Howes

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dennis Brandon

Special Recognition Award: Frank Flavin

Spirit of Alaska Award: Trend Alaska

Visitor Industry Hall of Fame: Bill Pedlar

"ATIA's awards are presented to businesses and individuals who are the leaders in our industry," said Sarah Leonard, ATIA President and CEO. "We are thrilled to recognize our 2022 awardees and thank them for their contributions to Alaska tourism."

Alyeska Award: presented to a business or organization for its outstanding leadership, professional excellence, and group contribution to the Alaska travel industry.

Aurora Award: recognizes an emerging leader who demonstrates excellence, creativity, and initiative in his/her profession. Nominees must work in Alaska tourism year-round and be younger than 35 years old before the end of the calendar year in which he/she is nominated. Nominees must have worked in the

Alaska's leading statewide nonprofit membership organization for the Alaska travel industry.

tourism industry for at least five years (minimum three years full-time) and be a role model for others, personally and professionally.

Chuck West Award: given to a new pioneer in the industry who has exhibited entrepreneurial creativity, innovation, and courage in the introduction of a successful new product for the benefit and enjoyment of Alaska's visitors.

Denali Award: presented to a living individual for his or her outstanding leadership, professional excellence, and personal contribution to the Alaska travel industry.

Lifetime Achievement Award: recognition conferred upon an individual who has demonstrated lifelong support of and leadership in Alaska tourism, promoted industry standards of excellence, and contributed to the industry's growth.

Special Recognition Award: granted periodically to an individual or business who has made personal or business efforts on behalf of the industry that have positively enhanced Alaska tourism.

Spirit of Alaska Award: presented to an individual or business that has demonstrated exceptional efforts to support a local community, charity, or other organization outside the travel industry.

ATIA is Alaska's largest statewide membership trade association for the travel industry and represents more than 600 members and businesses supporting Alaska tourism. ATIA promotes Alaska's travel industry as one of the state's major economic forces and advocates for the growth of the industry while remaining attentive to Alaska's natural environment, diverse cultures, and unique quality of life.

###