The Alaska Travel Industry Association (ATIA) Foundation supports scholarships for those pursuing their degree in or related to the tourism industry. The scholarship program strengthens the travel industry across the state and assists in the education of Alaskans working in tourism. Funds are raised during ATIA's annual convention and trade show Scholarship Luncheon and by generous donors. Since 2001, the Foundation has awarded $310,000 in scholarships to more than 150 individuals statewide. 

The application deadline is typically late January. ATIA Foundation scholarship applications for 2019 will be available in late 2018. 

For questions regarding the Foundation or scholarships please email


2017 ATIA Foundation Scholarship Awards - $25,000 in scholarships awarded!

Un-Cruise Adventures Scholarship - $2,500 
Kaitlan Head, Chugiak, AK 

Holland America Line Scholarship - $2,500
Stuart Burns Relay, Valdez, AK

Kris Geldaker Memorial Scholarship - $2,500 
Spencer Erickson, Ketchikan, AK

White Pass & Yukon Route Railroad Scholarship - $2,500
Kacy Grundhauser, Anchorage, AK 

ATIA Anchorage Chapter Scholarship - $2,000
Helen Bismark, Anchorage, AK

Alaska Airlines Scholarship - $1,000 
Dixie Dittbrenner, Eagle River, AK

Premier Alaska Tours Scholarship - $1,000
Ellie Wells, Anchorage, AK 

All Alaska Tours Scholarship - $1,500 
Eliza Oldham, Eagle River, AK

Tim McDonnell Mentorship Scholarship - $1,000 
Ellie Wells, Anchorage, AK

Alaska Railroad Scholarship - $1,000 
Dixie Dittbrenner, Eagle River, AK

Chuck West Memorial Scholarship- $1,000 
Chastity McCarthy, Kodiak, AK

ATIA Continuing Education Scholarship- $500
Brenda Carlson, Anchorage, AK 

Six 1-year scholarships funded through member pledges were also awarded: 
Ellie Wells, Anchorage, AK - $1,000
Jordan Kesler, Eagle River, AK- $1,000
Kamerin Karp, Anchorage, AK - $1,000
Andrew Agosti, Kenai, AK - $1,000
Jeri Henry, Anchorage, AK - $1,000
Dixie Dittbrenner, Eagle River, AK- $500
Eliza Oldham, Eagle River, AK - $500