ATIA Foundation Scholarships

Student Scholarship Program for High School and College Students:

Students interested in applying for an ATIA Foundation Student Scholarship must be Alaskan residents enrolled or intending to enroll in a program of study in preparation for a career in tourism. Scholarship funds, if awarded, will only be paid directly to an accredited institution on the recipient’s behalf.

TO APPLY: Submit an online application
DEADLINE: The 2023 Foundation Student Scholarship Program is currently accepting applications through Tuesday, January 31st, 2023.

Please review our Frequently Asked Questions prior to applying.

Professional Development Scholarship Program:

The ATIA Foundation is pleased to offer a program for Alaskan residents currently employed in a travel industry-related business. The ATIA Foundation Professional Development Scholarship Program offers scholarships for individuals seeking to advance or build upon their expertise in a visitor industry-related position. Scholarships – maximum $1,000 – can be applied to registration and materials for continuing education programs such as seminars, webinars, conferences, or similar education program related to employment in Alaska’s visitor industry.

Applications for the Professional Development Scholarship Program are accepted at any time on a first-come, first-served basis.

TO APPLY: Submit an online application.
DEADLINE: Professional Development Program applications are accepted at any time on a first-come, first-served basis.

For questions regarding the Foundation or either scholarship program, please email [email protected].

2022 ATIA Foundation Student Scholarship Awards

$52,000 in scholarships awarded!

A Taste of Alaska Lodge Scholarship

Dylan Bender, Eagle River, $1,000

Alaska Airlines Scholarship

Brooks Christian, Eagle River, $2,000

Alaska Collection by Pursuit Scholarship

Heather Reiss, Palmer, $2,500

Alaska Helicopter Tours Scholarship

Micaela Weihrich, Eagle River, $1,500

Alaska Railroad Corporation Scholarship

Micaela Weihrich, Eagle River, $1,000

All Alaska Tours Scholarship

For students pursuing education in Business Administration
Chloe Manderson, Anchorage, $1,500

ATIA Anchorage Chapter Scholarship

Through donations raised by the ATIA Anchorage Chapter
Heather Reiss, Palmer, $2,500
Emma Tomeo, Denali Park, $2,500

ATIA 1-Year Scholarship

Funded through ATIA member donations
Heather Reiss, Palmer, $5,000
Dylan Bender, Eagle River, $5,000
Emma Tomeo, Denali Park, $5,000

ATIA Rural Scholarship

Rafael Bitanga, Kodiak, $5,000

Chuck West Memorial Scholarship

funded through an endowment established in memory of Chuck West, founder of Westours and Cruise West.
Dylan Bender, Eagle River, $1,000

CLIA Alaska Scholarship

Carson Cowan, Ketchikan, $1,000

Holland America Line Scholarship

Orion Christian, Eagle River, $1,500
Emma Tomeo, Denali Park, $1,000

Kris Geldaker Memorial Scholarship

Awarded in memory of Kris Geldaker to students pursuing a tourism or maritime-related degree
Heather Reiss, Palmer, $2,500

Premier Alaska Tours Scholarship

Emma Tomeo, Denali Park, $2,500

Royal Caribbean Group Scholarship

Carson Cowan, $5,000

Tim McDonnell Mentorship Scholarship

Funded through the support of Alaska Coach Tours in honor of Tim McDonnell, the former vice president of Alaska operations for Princess and Holland America Lines.
Hannah Moody, Ketchikan, $1,000

Tania Hancock Memorial Scholarship

Awarded in memory of Tania Hancock to assist individuals who are passionate and tenacious in pursuing a career in tourism.
Emma Tomeo, Denali Park, $2,000