Board of Directors

CURRENT ATIA MEMBERS E-VOTE NOW! Click here to see information about 2020-2021 candidates for the ATIA Board of Directors.

The Alaska Travel Industry Association (ATIA) is governed by a member-elected Board of Directors. The ATIA Board of Directors guides the Association’s priorities as the state’s leading nonprofit membership association for the Alaska travel industry. The Board of Directors approves ATIA’s annual budget and takes action on issues important to tourism businesses and partners.

The ATIA Board of Directors is made up of members representing small and large tourism businesses and different sectors of the travel industry. The ATIA Board of Directors is also comprised of regional representatives, including elected directors from the Arctic, Interior, Southwest, Southcentral, and Southeast regions of the state. Directors also are elected to At-Large (statewide) and Outside seats.

ATIA is holding Board of Directors elections for seven open seats, based on the location of the member’s primary region of business operation or where the tourism service is provided:

  • Arctic
  • Interior 
  • Southcentral
  • Southeast
  • Outside
  • At-Large (2 seats)

Member-elected candidates will serve a three-year term from October 2020 through October 2023.

Ballots were to ATIA members in good standing on September 1. If you haven’t received your e-vote by email, please check your spam or contact Julie Jessen or Tay Clayton on the ATIA team.

2019-2020 Board of Directors


Board Chair
Dan Oberlatz, Alaska Alpine Adventures, LLC – SOUTHWEST (E – exp 22)

Vice Chair
Bill Pedlar, Knightly Tours – OUTSIDE (E – exp 21)

Secretary/Membership Chair
Holly Johnson, Wings Airways & Taku Glacier Lodge – SOUTHEAST (E – exp 22)

Treasurer/Finance Chair
Dave McGlothlin, Holland America Group – OUTSIDE (E – exp 20)

Tourism Policy & Planning Chair
Josh Howes, Premier Alaska Tours – SOUTHCENTRAL (E – exp 21)

Government Relations Co-Chairs
Julie Saupe, Visit Anchorage – SOUTHCENTRAL (E – exp 22)
Scott Habberstad, Alaska Airlines – OUTSIDE (E – exp 22)

Marketing Chair:
Colleen Stephens, Stan Stephens Glacier & Wildlife Cruises – AT-LARGE (E – exp 21)

Past Chair
Elizabeth Hall, John Hall’s Alaska Cruises & Tours – AT-LARGE (E – exp 20)

ATIA President & CEO
Sarah Leonard, EX-OFFICIO



Bonnie Quill, Mat-Su Convention & Visitors Bureau – SOUTHCENTRAL (E – exp 20)
Brett Carlson, Northern Alaska Tour Company – ARCTIC (E – exp 20)
Dan Rough, Holland America Line – OUTSIDE (E-22)
Deb Hickok, Explore Fairbanks – INTERIOR (E – exp 21)
Dennis McDonnell, Alaska Coach Tours – SOUTHEAST (E* – exp 20)
John Binkley, Riverboat Discovery – AT-LARGE (E – exp 22)
Kirk Hoessle, Alaska Wildland Adventures – AT-LARGE (E – exp 20)
Kory Eberhardt, A Taste of Alaska Lodge – INTERIOR (E – exp 20)
Patti Mackey, Ketchikan Visitors Bureau – SOUTHEAST (E – exp 21)
Tennelle Peterson Wise, Grande Denali LLC – INTERIOR (E – exp 22)


Camille Ferguson, Sitka Tribe of Alaska (A – exp 20)
Carol Fraser, Aspen Hotels (A – exp 20)
Craig Jennison, TEMSCO Helicopters (A – exp 20)
Dale Wade, Alaska Railroad Corporation (A – exp 20)


Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer, State of Alaska

*E = Member-Elected 

**A = Board Appointed


New Alaska Cooperative Marketing Opportunities are Now Available

There are a variety of options for your business or organization to leverage Alaska’s national marketing campaign to reach highly qualified potential visitors. See what’s available on the Coop Marketing Programs page.